3 Things I want to Stop Doing When I’m 20

The Best is Yet to Come 8 x 10 Print by leesaralou

I’ll be 20 this coming July. That’s a big deal in my world. I feel like turning 20 means you have to be an adult (even though you legally were already).

So when I turn 20 this summer I want to start fresh. I’ve already decided 3 things that I used to do throughout my childhood and teens that I want to quit doing when I’m 20.

1. Holding back from saying what’s on my mind

Somewhere in my childhood I started getting into the habit of stopping myself from speaking. I sort of have an idea of where that comes from, but I’m not really interested in blaming anyone for something I continue to do. I am going to make a conscious effort to speak up. To add my 2 cents in a conversation. To show people who I really am when I have the opportunity to talk to them. I’m going to do it even if I feel uncomfortable doing it.

2. Stop dreaming and start doing

I have a lot of things I’d like to accomplish. I’d like to move out on my own within the next year if possible, but I don’t have the income to really support myself yet. I have ideas of how I could get that income – selling my art on Etsy (if you’d like to contribute to my independence fund check out my shop :D). I want to be self-employed doing the things I love – creating artwork, writing, maybe even doing some hair styling on the side. If I really want to make those things happen I have to get the ball rolling and keep it rolling.

3. Stop wasting time

The president of the law firm I work for (I’m the receptionist) passed away this past February at the age of 59. He had a short life but within his short life he accomplished a lot. He helped found a successful law firm for one, and he inspired his employees, and went above and beyond for his clients. His motto was “Never waste a day, never waste a minute.”

Now I don’t aspire to have 100 employees working for me one day. I don’t aspire to be a big name even in my city. I do want to live a happy, fulfilling life on my own terms. I want to be my own boss. I want to be able to help people and to continue volunteering. I can’t waste time if I want to achieve my goals.

So as I get closer to 20, I’ll probably add a gajillion more things that I want to cut out of my life and personality – I know I can’t expect perfection out of myself – but I can expect to do my best.

What do you think? Have you made any major life changes this year or are you hoping to make them?

Leave a Reply

