Tuesday News Day – Stranger Danger

Are you afraid of strangers on public transportation, or do you get chummy?

Print of Knitting Girl on 7 Train to Sunnyside from SophieBlackall

I took a trip to California a few weeks ago. On the two plane rides there I was relieved that I got to sit next to my friend. A man sat next to me in the window seat, but it didn’t bother me too much because I spent the ride laughing and talking to my friend.

On the way home the plane was packed and middle seats were all that was left. I got stuck in between a big guy and girl who was chatting away on her phone. They were pleasant and all, but I really would’ve preferred to sit with my friend. On the 2nd plane we boarded in Las Vegas, I nabbed an end seat, which was better than being in the middle. The man and his son sitting next to me barely acknowledged my presence. They didn’t like sitting with strangers either.

With that said, I thought it was pretty interesting that a complete study was done by a Yale University professor on how to keep strangers away when there’s an empty spot next to you on crowded transportation.

One of the funniest thing she said people do is the “hate stare”. Would you be willing to try that in order to sit alone?

 

Leave a Reply

