Saturday Ramblings : I’m Writing a Book!

Photo Credit: What If… You Could Bring Your Stories to Life from heartsleevesstudio

So I signed up for NaNoWriMo not knowing what I would attempt to write.

Today I have discovered exactly what I want to write and some other things. I recently read some of the book “The Warmth of Other Suns” (I would’ve finished it, but I forgot to renew the book and someone else put a hold on it). In it Isabel Wilkerson tells the untold story of the Great Migration of African American people from the South to the North and Western cities. Thanks Uncle Charles for recommending it!

I also read a few other books (I was on a reading kick) “The Winding Road”, “Ingrid: Ingrid Bergman A Personal Story”, and I just started reading “East of Eden”. These books are all packed with a lot of interesting history and after reading so much I realized that I wanted to write historical fiction. I also wanted to do research so that I could understand my own family’s story and how we wound up here in Omaha.

So then I had an epiphany – I would write a novel based on the story of my family migrating to Omaha and what they experienced through the decades. I haven’t decided if this will be a series or 1 novel, but I have decided that I will write it!

So I’m doing tons of research right now – and interviewing family members on their experiences. I feel like I’m filling in a lot of gaps and understanding a lot more about the history of Omaha.

Please continue to check back on the blog and check out my other blog that I created for the book On The Near North Side.

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

