Food Matters

I have always liked to eat. I think I have that in common with most people. But I have not always liked to cook. That just started recently, as my husband and I began giving more thought to what we were eating for dinner every night.

We have friends that were trying out the Paleo diet and seeing some positive results. We figured we were almost Paleo, since we cut out gluten and beans for hubby’s sensitivity to them.

Paleo blogs led us to the Whole30, a 30 day cleanse basically that cuts out problem foods (sugar, alcohol, gluten, legumes, dairy – except clarified ghee). The focus is on eating whole foods all day every day for 30 days. We’re on day 4!

It’s really eye-opening to see how sugar and soy are added into so many things. Most hot sauce has sugar. Bacon has sugar added (except a few like Pederson Farms that we purchased at Natural Grocers). Sugar is in nut butters and even our beloved Sriracha!

So we’re making more things, including Sriracha (because we need Sriracha) from scratch.

We tried buying a can of tuna at the grocery store and every brand contained soy!

I have been cooking up a storm ever since I started to get interested in the Paleo diet and I anticipate that I will be doing so even more over the next month.

Hoping to post what our experience is like throughout the Whole30, along with meal drawings like the one below. (Recipe from Nom Nom Paleo Doro Wat Recipe).

image

Leave a Reply

